My Insights

All about Divinity.

Vishnu Sahasra Nama Stothram – A Divine Gift

Vishnu

I have heard of two versions of the Vishnu Sahasranama Stothram. One of them told by Bhishma to Yudhistira and the other from the puranas. I know about the one told by bhishma to yudhistira.

It starts with a respectful note to Sri Vyasa Maharshi. And then, Yudhistira questions bhishma about the one eternal being who should be worshipped, about the Dharma that should be followed by everybody. After hearing the questions from yudhistiran, Bhishma addresses the former’s concerns by describing the eternal with thousand of his beautiful names. There are 108 slokas in the whole stothram and the whole stothram comprises of 1008 names of the lord.

My intention of writing a post about vishnu sahasranama stothram is to convey it’s importance. From my personal experience, this stothram is absolutely powerful. It removes sorrows, creates happiness and peace in life and elevate one’s standard of life for sure. I would definitely vouch for that. I should say, “It’s 100% guaranteed !!”.

I know this stothram, but I have a bad habit – I sleep for long time. So, I wake up late in the mornings. So, I miss the opportunity of reciting it daily. But, I feel it’s power whenever I recite it. That day will definitely be a successful day for me. One can definitely feel the difference after having practiced reciting it. One’s life will surely be different in the best possible way.

I am really thankful to my friend and his family for making me learn it. They have really imparted a great divine gift to me. There are many ways to lead a life. But the best way to lead a life is by remembering god in every action. When you learn this stothra, you can feel god’s presence in 1008 kinds of actions. Each of these names describes the importance of the lord. We can see the lord’s form in every walk of our life.

Link to Vishnu Sahasranama Stothram

This link has a detailed description of the entire stothram. One should always make time to progress in one’s devotional life. It always beneficial to spare some amount of time daily in these kind of activities. So, every body can reap the benefit of vishnu sahasranama stothra by daily reciting it atleast once. It’ll hardly take 30 mins for beginners, but when practiced, it can be recited in 15 mins. Assuming the lord’s forms while reciting the stothram will give us immense pleasure. It can also be learnt easily by listening to the stothram sung by M.S.Subbulakshmi.

Reciting it everyday in the morning is the best way to start your day. Recite it and reap it’s benefits, Pass it on to others !

Hare Krishna !!

December 16, 2010 - Posted by | Vishnu

1 Comment »

  1. meditating on the meanings of even a few names, will give peace and ward of negative experiences. This has been my experience for several years now.

    Comment by Hariharan | June 3, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

